Posts Tagged ‘Julie Orringer’

Once again, it is time for our annual list of great books to dig into after the relatives have left ( or, after the holidays end). This year, we seem to have selected some amazing tales that all have powerful women at their center (maybe we are channeling the women’s marches of a year ago). However, no matter their commonalities, each of these books will provide excellent reading to start your new year. Happy 2018!


FC9781631494758.jpgWomen and Power: A Manifesto by Mary Beard (2017) – Stop everything you’re doing, find a copy this beautiful little black book and start reading. Next, immediately buy ten copies and share them with your daughters sisters, and mother. And then, read it again. And then, share it with the men in your life (e.g., sons, husband, partner, co-workers, neighbors). Mary Beard’s newest work, sure to be a classic (no pun intended), is based on two of her lectures and draws upon her deep knowledge of the classics (she is a professor at Cambridge University and is the author of bestselling SPQR).  Beard examines how the the stories of mythical Greco-Roman characters like Penelope, Medusa, and Clytemnestra have informed women’s contemporary perceptions of how women are allowed to use our voices in public and to navigate the centers of power. A perfect pairing with Chimamanda Adichie’s We Should All Be Feminists and a powerful resource to help guide women in the #metoo era. ~Lisa Cadow and Lisa Christie

FC9780399575068.jpgHum If You Don’t Know the Words by Bianca Marias (2016) – An intimate look at life in South Africa during Apartheid.  This tale is told through the eyes of Robin, a young white girl who loses her mother and father during during the 1976 student uprising in Soweto. By using the narrator’s innocence to drive a plot of how she and Beauty, a middle-aged Black teacher who also experiences heart-wrenching loss during the uprising, are flung together, Ms. Marias exposes so much about how living through hate and fear causes unending harm. A great book for those with an interest in South Africa, human rights, racism, atypical families, and/or coming-of-age stories. ~Lisa Christie

FC9780735224292.jpgLittle Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng (2017) – A page turning tale of a suburb turned inside out when a mother-daughter duo rolls into town.  With her latest novel, Ms. Ng tackles race, adoption, planned communities (based on her own experiences growing up in Shaker Heights, Ohio), teenagers, middle-aged dreams, and art, all in a well-written tale of family and love. ~Lisa Christie

FC9780062654199.jpgThe Alice Network by Kate Quinn  (2017) – This suspenseful tale moves seamlessly between World War I and World War II and follows the stories of two iconoclastic women, the more mature Eve Gardiner and young American Charlie St. Claire.  The older Eve is damaged, aging, living in London, drinking entirely too much,  and still trying to recover from her experiences during the Great War a spy in Northern France for the all-female Alice Network (which existed and is based on historical records). Charlie has come to Europe in 1947, unmarried, pregnant, and trying to find her missing French cousin Rose who disappeared during the French occupation in 1945. Charlie and Eve form a fragile, unlikely friendship and work together while moving through France to solve the mystery of Rose and to find an individual who betrayed The Alice Network in 1915.  This is excellent, well-researched historical fiction and will appeal to readers who enjoyed Julie Orringer’s The Invisible Bridge and JoJo Moyes’ The Girl You Left Behind. Perfect for “after the relatives have left.” ~Lisa Cadow

And finally, HAPPY 2018!


Read Full Post »

Listen now or Download Kathleen Britton

Though recorded back in the springtime, it’s taken until late August to publish this special interview with Katharine Britton. Many thanks to this talented author for her time, thoughts, patience, and most of all for her new book.

We were lucky enough to spend a gorgeous last official day of spring with Katherine Britton on the porch of Lisa LC’s home. The weather truly enhanced what a privledge it is to spend time with a person who only recently earned the ability to call herself a published novelist.  Yes, Ms. Britton has published her first novel – Her Sister’s Shadow – and it is doing well on on beaches, poolsides, mountain tops, lake shores and assorted vacation spots across America this summer.

We spoke of summer, weather, the importance of home, family, birth order, fairies, elves, brownies and of course books.  The books that came up during our conversation include, in no particular order,

From her childhood memories:

Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Winnie the Pooh by AA Milne

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Counterpane Fairy by Katharine Pyle

Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey

Anne of the Green Gables by LM Montgomery

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Bronte sisters’ novels

More recent reading:

Jhumpa Lahiri’s works

The novels of Anita Shreve

The Big House: A century of life in an American summer home by George Howe Colt

House by Tracy Kidder

History of Love by Nicole Krauss (Also a pick for our “Stories for Old Men Waiting” blog and podcast)

Year of Wonders: A novel of the plague by Geraldine Brooks

Room by Emma Donoghue

We then discussed books we hope summer’s longer days allow us to tackle.  Now that her book tour is ending, Katharine’s “hoped-for” books include, include but are not limited to:

Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey

Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer

Caleb’s Crossing also by Geraldine Brooks and recently finished by JLisa C. J Lisa highly recommends this for people who like Geraldine Brook’s works and anyone with an interest in the history of Martha’s Vineyard or Native American history or the view from the point of view of a woman in colonial America.

Read Full Post »